About ninety percent of you are going to think I’m crazy, but I hate killing mice. Understand that I live in the country and that mice are a fact of life. While I’m not claiming my kitchen is spotless that’s not the reason we have mice. We have mice because we live in the middle of a ten acre field full of… you guessed it. Field Mice.

We also have mice because we have a barn that is chock full of old hay and any grain left from the horses and chickens. By now you’d think they would have eaten all that, but there are still mice and they must be getting food somewhere. (Please don’t say ‘yeah, your kitchen dummy!’)

We also have mice because we live in a 200 year old house that’s so full of entry points that if you fill the house with water it would look like a sieve from the outside. Or a sprinkler. Top of a watering can. You get the picture.

I hate killing mice so much that if they didn’t carry disease and POOP ALL OVER EVERYTHING, I’d leave them be. I’m the first one into the kitchen in the morning. Now I suppose I should explain that we use sticky traps because the kind of spring trap that actually catch mice are expensive and break if you breath on them. We used to use catch and release traps, but the dang mice would die of fright in those things and then you have to deal with getting the sucker out and into the trash.

I guess sticky traps are our best option. Or at least that’s what the DH says.

Back to me being the first one into the kitchen. They look at me with those big black eyes that whisper ‘please let me go. I promise not to poop in your sink ever again.’ And then I find myself talking to them in soothing tones in between yelling at my husband to get his butt downstairs and take care of the mouse. They keep making impossible promises until they are carried out of the house. And I feel AWFUL for the rest of the day. And I don’t ask what my husband did with them.

Those bold buggers practically tap dance across the counter at night – with top hat and cane. They are fast and fearless. They pull down their trousers and moon me as they go by. And still I feel like a murderess for killing them. It would gross you out if I told you all the places I’ve discovered mouse poop. And still.

I know, there’s something very wrong with my brain. But in my defense I’d like to show you the similarity between my littlest dog and a mouse. Tell me they’re not related.

 

Just a little snow.

{ 2 comments }

Brought to you by Toni Linenberger
Blonde Betty reviews
The Illustrious  Leader of the Intrepid BBs
10/1/14
 
 
 
 

 

 Untitled-1

 

 

 

 

 

Devil May Care Series

They were the baddest of the bad, the illegitimate sons and daughters of Satan, who had
managed to make love, raise hell, and milk life in a manner worthy of their heritage. Until the
day the devil himself needs to name his heir…
The mission? Each sibling must complete a task that is designed to stretch him or her to the
limit. The prize? The Keys To Hell. The problem? Four
mortals equally determined to ensure that the the Devil’s children fail…
So who will the next ruler of Sin City be?
Raising Hell by Julie Kenner
Kindle http://amzn.to/1hzymDU
Nook http://bit.ly/1ilxO4o
Kobo http://bit.ly/RlAQME
iBooks http://bit.ly/1gylRnP
Smashwords http://bit.ly/1m1p5rd
Hell Fire by Dee Davis
ibooks: http://bit.ly/1rffRWd
B&N: http://bit.ly/1jviRuD
Kobo: http://bit.ly/PndunP
Smashwords: http://bit.ly/1i7C4G7
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1eWXvcy
Sure Fire by Julie Kenner
Kindle: http://amzn.to/1hCj6S0
Kindle UK http://amzn.to/1hCkswh
Kindle CA http://amzn.to/PFZ2HQ
Kindle AU http://bit.ly/1lUDWoh
Nook: http://bit.ly/1hCiaxf
Hell’s Fury by Dee Davis
iBooks: http://bit.ly/1sbUE1G
B&N: http://bit.ly/1iYY4CA
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1lP02WH
Smashwords: http://bit.ly/1hWDnGE
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1kssPO
Website: http://devilmaycarebooks.com

And a Rafflecopter:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0fe9526d42

{ 0 comments }

Brought to you by Toni Linenberger
Blonde Betty reviews
The Illustrious  Leader of the Intrepid BBs
9/30/14

 

Title: ‘Til Death: Volume One
Series: ‘Til Death #1
Author: Bella Jewel
Cover Design: LM Creations
 Release Date: November 25, 2014

Synopsis

I married a douchebag. 

It’s my own fault, really. He came in like a handsome stranger and blew
me off my feet. I fell madly in love, like the naive girl I am.

Then he left me high and dry.

Turns out, I was nothing more than a business plan for billionaire
playboy, Marcus Tandem. He needed to be married to obtain his
grandfathers business, and I was the poor victim in his path. I thought
we had something real, I believed it was special until the truth reared
its ugly head.

I never meant anything to Marcus. Not a damned thing.

Five years on and my life has been a struggle. Left with nothing, I’ve
had to work myself into the ground to clean up my debts and take care of
my sick mother, as well as trying to divorce a man that refuses contact
with me.

Five years is a lot of time to plot the perfect revenge.

What my dear husband didn’t count on, is that fact that I was smarter
than I looked. After all, what married couple doesn’t take out a life
insurance policy? If he dies. I get five million dollars.

Of course, Marcus doesn’t know about it.

One drunken night just after I
left made sure of that.
My mother is unwell, she can’t pay for treatment. And I’m a bitter
woman. I’ve been the joke of Marcus Tandem for five years while I’ve
formed the perfect plan. Now it’s my turn.

I have to kill him.

Oh yes, Marcus will pay for what he did.

I made a vow before God, that I would be by his side ‘Til death do we
part.

I plan to keep that vow.

Pre-order for 99c
Book Trailer
Author Bio

Bella Jewel is a self published, USA
Today bestselling author. She’s been publishing since 2013. Her first release
was a contemporary romance, Hell’s Knights which topped the charts upon
release. Since that time, she has published over five novels, gaining a
bestseller status on numerous platforms. She lives in North Queensland and is
currently studying editing and proofreading to further expand her career. Bella
has been writing since she was just shy of fifteen years old. In Summer 2013
she was offered an ebook deal through Montlake Romance for her bestselling
modern day pirate series, Enslaved By The Ocean. She plans to expand her
writing career, planning many new releases for the future.

Author Links
Giveaway

iv>

{ 0 comments }

Brought to you by Toni Linenberger
Blonde Betty reviews
The Illustrious  Leader of the Intrepid BBs
9/30/14 

 

 

 

IProp_Blitz

Today is the release day for INDECENT PROPOSAL, the 4th

book in the Boys of Bishhop series by Molly O’Keefe. Check

out the contest below for a $50 Gift Card!

 

IndecentProposal

BOOK SUMMARY:

Perfect for readers of Susan Mallery and Rachel Gibson, Molly O’Keefe’s gritty and sensual tale of passion and politics features the brother of the heroine from the author’s beloved novel, Never Been Kissed. He’s a driven man who refuses to be distracted—until he meets a beautiful bartender who just may change his life.

 

With his chiseled jaw and his thick blond hair, Harrison Montgomery was born to lead. Four generations of Montgomery men have served the state of Georgia and now he’s next in line. Harrison, though, is driven to right wrongs: namely to clean up the political mess left by his father’s greed and corruption. But Harrison must first win his congressional bid, and nothing can get in his way—not even an angel who served him whiskey and gave him a shoulder to lean on and a body to love for a night. Problem is, she’s pregnant. Scandal is brewing and there is only one solution: marriage.

Damage control? Ryan Kaminski can’t believe that a cold, calculating political animal now inhabits the body of the emotionally vulnerable stranger who’d given her the most unforgettable night of her life. Really, she doesn’t want anything from Harrison, except to be left alone to have her baby in peace. But Ryan is broke, jobless, and essentially blackmailed by Harrison’s desperate family to accept this crazy marriage deal. For two years, she will have to act the role of caring, supportive wife. But what is Ryan supposed to do when she realizes that, deep in her heart, she’s falling in love.

 

IProp_Release1

INDECENT PROPOSAL BUY LINKS:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1u6grKX

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1sKTKgP

 

Purchase the third book in the series – BETWEEN THE SHEETS

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1qz4fCG

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1jizY2a

 


Purchase the second book in the series – NEVER BEEN KISSED

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1qpWwn6
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/SXQ3U1

 

Purchase the first book in the series – WILD CHILD

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1pdqiLp
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1jDyO1i

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

AUTHOR INFORMATION

MollyOKeefe

MOLLY O’KEEFE’s Bio:

Molly O’Keefe is the RITA Award winning author of over 25 books and novellas. She lives in Toronto, Canada with her husband, two kids and the largest heap of dirty laundry in North America.

AUTHOR LINKS:
Site – http://www.molly-okeefe.com/
Twitter – https://twitter.com/MollyOKwrites
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/MollyOKeefeBooks
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/223845.Molly_O_Keefe

{ 0 comments }

Want some bad advice? Feel free to ask Bitchy Bertha questions in the comments!

Dear Bertha,

I’m not sure what my son spent the day doing, but he didn’t get his math homework done by the deadline set by his teacher. I think he left it to the last minute and then got stuck on a problem. My feeling is that he’ll learn from the experience of having to turn in incomplete homework, (it’s computer based so he can’t continue on past the deadline – and why is a teacher making a deadline for a saturday evening anyway?) however, my husband is fighting mad. He’s ranting about taking away the effing toys (he means the ipod) (and he didn’t use effing, he used the real word.)

Am I wrong to be so laid back about it? Should I also be ranting and punishing my son. Or should my husband chill out and let his teenaged son learn from experience?

Sincerely,

Confused

 

Dear Confused,

Confused is what you are not. Many life lessons can’t be taught, they must be experienced. But don’t expect your husband to agree with you. I’m assuming if you have a teenaged son together that this is not a new problem. I’m sorry for it, but you’ll be putting up with your husband’s bad behavior for much longer than your son’s. You son will likely grow out of his procrastination. If your husband hasn’t grown out of his dirty mouth and bad temper by now, he’s not likely to.

As for a teacher who assigns homework to be turned on on a Saturday evening? You may know I’m not a big proponent of homework, but I think my opinion is in the minority. We’ve got homework ingrained in the culture now and it will take a major paradigm shift to get rid of it now. Maybe you should be thankful that he didn’t make the deadline for Friday night – at least your son had the opportunity to work on it Saturday, even if he didn’t take it.

And by the way, I hope you have plans for dumping that loser – the husband, not the son. No one needs that kind of grief.

Best regards,

Bertha

{ 0 comments }